## 596

## ADMINISTRATION.

## 6.-Dominion Ministries, 1896-1914.

Office.	Name.	Date of appointment.	
Eighth Ministry.			
Premier and President of Council	Right Hon. Sir Wilfrid Laurier	July	11, 1896
Minister of Trade and Com- merce	RightHon.SirRichard J.Cartwright.	July	13, 1896
Secretary of State	Hon. R. W. Scott Hon. Charles Murphy	July Oct.	
Minister of Justice	Hon. Sir Oliver Mowat Hon. David Mills Hon. Charles Fitzpatrick Hon. Sir Allen B. Aylesworth	Nov.	$\begin{array}{c} 13,\ 1896\\ 18,\ 1897\\ 11,\ 1902\\ 4,\ 1906 \end{array}$
Minister of Marine and Fish- eries	Hon. Sir Louis Henry Davies Hon. James Sutherland Hon. J. Raymond F. Préfontaine Hon. Louis P. Brodeur <sup>1</sup> Hon. Rodolphe Lem eux <sup>1</sup>	Feb.	13, 1896 15, 1902 11, 1902 6, 1906 11, 1911
Minister of Militia and De- fence	Hon. Sir Frederick W. Borden	July	13, 1896
Postmaster General	Hon. Sir William Mulock Hon. Allen B. Aylesworth Hon. Rodolphe Lemieux Hon. Henri S. Béland	July Oct. June Aug.	$\begin{array}{c} 13,\ 1896\\ 16,\ 1905\\ 4,\ 1906\\ 11,\ 1911 \end{array}$
Minister of Agriculture	Hon. Sydney A. Fisher	July	13, 1896
Minister of Public Works	Hon. J. Israel Tarte Hon. James Sutherland Hon. Charles S. Hyman Hon. William Pugsley	Nov. May	13, 1896 11, 1902 22, 1905 13, 1907
Minister of Finance	Hon. William S. Fielding	July	13, 189(
Minister of Railways and Canals.	Hon. Andrew G. Blair Hon. Henry R. Emmerson Hon. George P. Graham	Jan.	13, 1896 15, 1904 13, 1907
Minister of Interior	Hon. Clifford Sifton Hon. Frank Oliver		17, 1896 8, 1903
Minister of Customs	Hon. William Paterson	June	30, 189;
Minister of Inland Revenue.	Hon. Sir Henri G. Joly de Lotbinière Hon. M. E. Bernier Hon. Louis P. Brodeur Hon. William Templeman		

<sup>1</sup>Also Minister of Naval Service.

NOTE.— A complete list of the Dominion Ministries from Confederation to 1913 appeared in the Year Book of 1912, pp. 422-429.